Good Friday

On this Good Friday, please pray the Stations of the Cross. Found below are the paintings of each Station created during religion class by our 1st and 7th graders. They were read in school last week.

In Latin, “patior” means to suffer and “passio” means suffering. So, these stations or stops tell us the story of Jesus’s arrest, trial, and suffering.

Station 1: Jesus is arrested and sentenced to death.

Jesus is standing before angry people who are yelling and saying mean, hurtful things to him. Some of the people tell lies about him, saying that he did bad things.

But Jesus stays quiet, even though he knows that he will be hurt. He knows that God is with him.

Let us pray: Jesus, help me be honest. Don’t let me tattletale or look to get others in trouble.

Station 2: Jesus accepts the cross.

The cross was big and heavy. It was hard for Jesus to carry it. Jesus carried the heavy cross without complaining once.

Let us pray: Jesus, please help me not complain. Help me to keep trying, even when I find something hard.

Station 3: Jesus falls for the first time.

The cross is heavy as Jesus walks along. His shoulders ache, and the stones on the road hurt his feet. He stumbles and falls. But Jesus gets up and keeps on going.

Let us pray: Jesus, help me to be hopeful. Let me see the best in people and the things I do.

Station 4: Jesus meets his mother.

Jesus knew that his mother was sad to see him suffering so much. But he is so happy that she came to see him. They loved each other very much.

Let us pray: Jesus, help me to remember the love that I have for my parents. Remind me to show my love for them with hugs and words of thanks.

Station 5: Simon helps Jesus carry the cross.

Jesus is so tired and the soldiers know that he cannot carry the heavy cross by himself. They choose Simon from the crowd to help Jesus. Jesus whispers “thank you” to Simon. And they continue on, carrying the cross together.

Let us pray: Jesus, help me know that when I help others, it is like helping you. I want to be kind and helpful.

Station 6: Veronica wipes the face of Jesus.

Jesus is hot and sweating. Veronica pushes her way out from the crowd, knowing that she could get in trouble from the soldiers. She takes a clean cloth and gently wipes Jesus’ face.

Let us pray: Jesus, help me to be brave and love others who may not be the same as me. Let me understand and appreciate their differences.

Station 7: Jesus falls a second time.

Jesus fell again because he was so weak and tired. But he doesn’t give up. He got back up and continued on.

Let us pray: Think of something that makes you feel weak and tired, something that is hard for you to do. Ask Jesus to help you with this.

Station 8: Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem.

Jesus passes some women who are crying because they are sad to see Jesus suffer. He tells them not to cry because of him. He tells them, instead, to take care of others, especially their children.

Let us pray: Jesus, help me to be a faithful friend. Let me be there for others when they need help or are going through a tough time.

Station 9: Jesus falls a third time.

Jesus can hardly take another step. I can’t believe that when he falls again, the soldiers won’t even help him. They only yell louder to get up and keep moving. Jesus didn’t get mad at them; he forgave them.

Let us pray: Jesus, help me forgive others when they say or do hurtful things to me. Help me not get angry or hold a grudge against someone.

Station 10: Jesus is stripped of his clothes.

Jesus finally reaches the hill that is at the end of the road. The soldiers take almost all of his clothes from him. I would be so humiliated and embarrassed. Jesus wasn’t ashamed because he knew that his Father in heaven loved him, and everyone there.

Let us pray: Jesus, let me know how much you and the Father love me, so that I may never feel embarrassed or ashamed.

Station 11: Jesus is hung on the cross.

The soldiers drove nails through Jesus’ hands and feet. Oh, how this must have hurt. Then they lifted up the cross and stood it in place. Jesus was in a lot of pain.

Let us pray: Jesus, I ask your prayers for those who are suffering today: the sick, the poor, the hungry, and the lonely.

Station 12: Jesus dies on the cross.

Finally, after the long walk, falling three times, and being nailed to the cross – Jesus dies. Now this part of his life is over. Jesus has given his life for all of us.

Let us pray: Jesus, remember me, when you come into your kingdom.

Station 13: Jesus’ body is taken down from the cross.

Jesus’ body is taken down from the cross and Mary holds him tenderly in her arms. She and all his friends are sad and crying. But for Jesus there is no more pain and suffering.

Let us pray: Jesus, give me love and courage when I am sad.

Station 14: Jesus is laid in the tomb.

Jesus’ friends wash his body and wrap him in a sheet. Then they place his body in a large tomb or cave. They push a large rock in front of the entrance so that no one can go inside. Even when it seems that things are dark and sad, there is always hope that God can bring new life.

Let us pray: Jesus, I believe that you died and rose from the dead so that I can have new life. Thank you!