The SGS Advantage

#wistia_grid_68_wrapper *{-moz-box-sizing:content-box;-webkit-box-sizing:content-box;box-sizing:content-box;}

At a Glance…

charter school graphic

SGS was founded in September of 1962

Our student/teacher ratio is 6:1

teaching in New York graphic
"learn, discite" latin graphic

Latin is taught in grades 5 through 8, along with Spanish beginning in Pre-K

Many of our students are eligible to become apart of the John Hopkins Talented Youth Program

award at private school in Albany graphic
graduation in Albany graphic

More than half of our students qualify for National Junior Honor Society

We have 21 full-time and part-time teachers, the majority of whom have advanced degrees in their field.

certificate award graphic
Learning ABC's graphic

Our average class has 12 students.

Our Philosophy

We believe every child is unique. Teachers take a child to heights they never dreamed possible.

Our Values

We strive to instill in our students important traits needed to thrive in the 21st Century:

Honesty & Integrity

Creativity & Innovation

Commitment & Perseverance

Curiosity & Confidence

Our Mission

Our mission is to prepare our students for the future by providing a rigorous and dynamic academic curriculum and engendering strong moral character in every student.


Board of Trustees


President – Willard A. Anderson II (‘83)
First Vice President – Peter J. Maloy (’74)
 Second Vice President – Grace Clark
Secretary – Sarah Newkirk


Peter J. Campito
Grace Clark
Lauren Hayes
Matthew Heerwagen
 John E. Maloy, Jr. (’68)
Molly Nicol
 Thomas D. O’Connor III (’99) – President of the Alumni Association
Elizabeth Bender
Ashit Patel, M.D.
Matt Heerwagon (’88)
Michael Raymond (’02)
 Michael J. Uccellini (‘80)
 Morgan W. Whalen
 Kathryn Helm – Head of School *ex officio

Honorary Trustees

John T. Biscone
 Denis E. Chagnon, M.D.
Rhea P. Clark
 Robert T. Cushing
Robert T. Giombetti, M.D.
 Thomas D. O’Connor, Jr.

Saint Gregory’s School Founders

 Brooks and Mary Barvoets
Ernest and Polly Barvoets
 Edward and Betty B. Crummey
Dorothy Donovan Farrell
Peter & Agnes Kiernan
 Ernst & Virginia Kopp
 Frank Wells McCabe
Thomas and Nancy O’Connor
John and Doran Zimicki


121 Old Niskayuna Rd, Loudonville, NY 12211
(518) 782 1364